10 Purple Cap Holders of Captivating Indian Premier League

With the advent of modern form in the ODI format of the game, the limited form of the game demands zero errors especially when we are talking about bowlers. ‘Purple Cap’ is a prize given to the top wicket taking bowler like the orange cap to the leading run scorers. In this article, we will talk about ‘Purple Cap’ holders in the IPL history.

Sohail Tanvir

He was the leading wicket-taker in the first IPL season. It is worth to mention that it was the only season in which Pakistani players featured. In the inaugural season, Rajasthan Royals won the title and its prime reason was this junior Rawalpindi man, Sohail Tanvir. Even after 10 seasons of IPL, his best figures are yet to get disturbed. He picked up 22 wickets in 11 games at an impressive economy rate of 6.49.

Pragyan Ojha

This man can be a perfect role as an unlucky character. He proved his worth by winning an elusive prize of a purple cap in the third season of the IPL. He picked up 21 wickets in 16 games at a good average of 20.

Lasith Malinga

Injuries may try to ruin his career but due to his strong determining approach, Malinga is unarguably the best-limited overs bowler due to his variations and his abilities to bowl yorkers. He picked up 28 wickets in 16 matches. His economy of below 6 and average of 13.39 showed how closely he read every situation.

Morne Morkel

The South African pace star, Morne Morkel is known for his high arm action. In 2012, he played for Delhi Daredevils and picked 25 wickets in 16 games.

Dwayne Bravo

He is one among the few who are particularly born for the limited overs format. He plays most of the leagues around the globe and is considered as an asset due to his effective bowling and smart batting. In 2013, Bravo picked up 32 wickets in 18 wickets.

Mohit Sharma

He is one of the most under-rated bowlers of Chennai Super Kings. One can use the tag of ‘unsung hero’ with this man. Talking about his performance, Mohit took 23 wickets in 16 games.

Dwayne Bravo

One may call him a tailor-made cricketer of this format after coming to know that he is one among the two cricketers in IPL history to win purple cap twice. In 2015, Bravo scalped 26 wickets in 17 matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

He is the king of swing. He was a key member for sunrises Hyderabad to won the title in 2016. Bhuvi picked 23 wickets in 17 matches with a tidy average of 21.30.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Credits: India.com

He is the only second bowler after Bravo to win purple cap twice in IPL history. In 2017, Kumar scalped 26 wickets in 14 matches. 

Updated: May 15, 2018 — 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *