India look to make the most of festive fervour over South Africa

Over the last two years, the Indians clearly looked unstoppable. They played ever so well that no other team could manage to fight out a good end result. Under the tutelage of Virat Kohli, India made most of the festive fervour. It would be quite interesting to see how the Indians go about their business in South Africa.

The hosts South Africa could morally be on the top and take shelter from the fact that they got the better of the Indian side for 25 years. With all the bases covered, the Indian side that is fully loaded with all cylinders will be vying to make their presence count on the turf.

Indian team (Credits: Sportskeeda)

The fact that Indians will start their tour without warm-up game might just pop the bubble of their measured approach in unfamiliar territory. Both the teams must have gone through ideal preparations before giving it a good shot in the opening encounter, which promises to have a great deal of entertainment.

With 8 bowlers in the ranks – 6 pacers and 2 spinners, the visitors’ all-round bowling attack is pretty strong, a trump card that India was devoid of killer instinct in the early stages. Test cricket returns to Cape Town at the Newlands stadium. India can’t afford to lose everything and gain little as they have instilled a sense of huge confidence.

A couple of days ago, they were potential reports claiming Indians were totally unhappy about the practice wicket that was provided to them. However, the Indians sounded optimistic in cashing in on the chances under any conditions during the match. Well, this might give the fans a sigh of relief and a ray of hope.

The Titanic tussle between India & South Africa would get even bigger and better that is certain to give the fans every snippet of the moment to cheer for in the games to come.

Predicted Lineups


Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

South Africa:

Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj.

Date: January 5, 2017

Venue: Cape Town, Newlands (South Africa)

Time: 2:00 P.M IST

Match Coverage: Sony Ten 1 (English), Sony Ten 3 (Hindi)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *